Call function in loop

Hi guys. This code reads the information received from a webhook.
I want to call the “myHandler” function every 6 seconds in a loop to read if there is updated data. At the moment for some reason the function “myHandler” after being called about 5 times stops and does not return to consult the data.

I am new in this language, I hope I am not asking a very silly question.

I appreciate any help!! Thank you very much.
Regards!! :grin:

#include <JsonParserGeneratorRK.h>
JsonParserStatic<512, 50> jsonParser;
int tempMax;
int tempMin;

void loop() {  
  String data = String(10);  
  Particle.publish("setTemperature", data, PRIVATE);

Particle.publish("max", String(tempMax), PRIVATE);
  Particle.publish("min", String(tempMin), PRIVATE);

delay(6000);
}

void setup() {
  Particle.subscribe("hook-response/setTemperature", myHandler, MY_DEVICES);
}

void myHandler(const char *event, const char *data) {
    jsonParser.addString(data);

if (jsonParser.parse()) {        
        jsonParser.getOuterValueByKey("tempMax", tempMax);
        jsonParser.getOuterValueByKey("tempMin", tempMin);
    }
}

take a look into Software Timers. You can have them fire at certain time intervals.
https://docs.particle.io/reference/firmware/photon/#software-timers

1 Like

Right now myHandler is the callback for the webhook subscription. Why do you want to call it every 6 seconds when it should only run in response to the webhook?

You may need to rethink what you are trying to achieve.

2 Likes

Hi @nrobinson2000 thanks for your response. The truth, I feel a little lost with the functioning of webhooks.