BMP085 and Spark Core

I tried different libraries posted in this forum for BMP085 but with nothing seems to be working. I am using Sparkfun BMP085 Breakout Board. Could someone help me to get it working. I am sure I am doing something wrong, could someone help me with circuit diagram and code. I am a beginner in this.

Thanks in advance!

–KRV

Did you add 4.7k ohm pull up resistors to the I2C lines (D0, D1) ?

@BDub, the BMP085 Breakup Board has 4.7K pull up resistors built in, am I correct?

I tried address 0x77 and 0xEE, but not working.

Sparkfun says that the i2c pullups are jumper selectable on their newer board. Can you check for a jumper or solder blob on the three parts of SJ1?

I am using this one SEN-0969 (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11824) and I can see solder blob.

You should be using address 0x77 just to make sure.

Are you using this library?
https://gist.github.com/technobly/8342329

If so you may want to modify the setup()

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600); // start Core with Serial terminal Closed, then open serial terminal
  while(!Serial.available()) SPARK_WLAN_Loop(); // wait for user to press ENTER in serial terminal

if (!bmp.begin()) {
    Serial.println("Could not find a valid BMP085 sensor, check wiring!");
    while(1) SPARK_WLAN_Loop(); // Die, with the possibility of reincarnation
  }
}

(I just updated the Gist with this better code)

This pinout?

// SPARK CORE PINOUT ---------------------------------
// Connect VCC of the BMP085 sensor to 3.3* (NOT Vin!)
// Connect GND to GND
// Connect SCL to i2c clock - on Spark Core this is D1
// Connect SDA to i2c data - on Spark Core this is D0
// EOC is not used, it signifies an end of conversion
// XCLR is a reset pin, also not used here

Are you seeing this error?

"Could not find a valid BMP085 sensor, check wiring!"
3 Likes

@BDub, Let me try from the very beginning and get back here.