Arcade Cabinet made with Particle Photon board (Firmware/Hardware QUESTIONS)

I want to make a small game cabinet using a particle photon board, some buttons, a joystick, and screen. As a beginner to game design and hardware, would anyone have suggestions for hardware, like if you know a good screen that works with particle photon boards, can be small, or if you know any libraries that might work for 2d rendering that outputs to a screen. Any help would be awesome.

Also, I’m very new to game development, and this is for school, so using a photon board is mandatory really. I really want to know if there is a way we could use assets in rendering if that is the right way to say it. If anyone knows if there would be a way to do this, it would be awesome.

I know what I want to do, but not quite all the details of how to do it. I want to be able to make a game using assets, and I want to be able to have multiple things on the screen at a time and a background.

Honestly I’d go with a Raspberry Pi and a cheap HDMI LCD.

You can’t connect a HDMI screen to a Photon, and the LCD and OLED displays that connect via SPI or I2C are both expensive in larger sizes and have too low of a refresh rate for anything but the most basic of games. I did a really slow version of pong with two SSD1306 displays, but you can’t get much more than that.

2 Likes

I do have a raspberry pi, but I think using a photon board is mandatory, it’s for a class. the project is using a photon board and some sensors and making a project, my group decided that an arcade machine would be really cool, but I’m trying to figure out how games work, as far as storing characters, then putting together characters and a background and then putting that out to a screen. The more I look into things, the more I feel like I’m being way too ambitious, but I really want to do it.