Analog Inputs - No reporting or excessive reporting

I’m a bit new to hardware and am having a a few issues reading some analog inputs.

Ideally, I’d like to be able to swap out inputs at anytime and have them report back to a web application. The code below loops over all pins, checks for update, and publishes a change if needed.

The digital portion works great, but only if I comment out the analog part. The analog never works :frowning: What’s wrong with the below code? Am I overwhelming the stream? Is there some kind of interference that continually gets published? If I change the loop interval from 100 to 1000 milliseconds I start to see analog reporting, but I’m not manipulating anything :confused: ? Any ideas as to what might be wrong here?

Thanks,

Joe

int analogPins[] = {A0, A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6, A7};
int digitalPins[] = {D0, D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, D6, D7};
int digitalStates[] = {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};
int analogStates[] = {0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0};

int analogChangeThreshold = 5;

unsigned long lastTime = 0UL;
void loop()
{
  unsigned long now = millis();

if(now-lastTime>100UL){
    lastTime = now;

// Loop over the analog inputs and publish the read
    // states if they've changed "enough" since the
    // previous event loop
    for(int a=0; a<8; a++){
      int currentState = analogRead(analogPins[a]);

if(abs(analogStates[a] - currentState) > analogChangeThreshold){
        analogStates[a] = currentState;

char publishString[64];
        sprintf(publishString, "{ \"pinId\": \"A%u\", \"state\": %u }", a, currentState);
        Spark.publish("input-update", publishString);
      }
    }

// Loop over the digital inputs and publish the read
    // states if they've changed since the previous
    // event loop
    for(int d=0; d<8; d++){
      int currentState = digitalRead(digitalPins[d]);

if(currentState != digitalStates[d]){
        digitalStates[d] = currentState;

char publishString[64];