ADXL 345 accelerometer and ifttt.com

Hello,

I am trying to connect the ADXL 345 accelerometer to the particle photon. Ultimately, I want to use ifttt.com to monitor the tilt of the sensor and store the new tilt in a google spreadsheet when it moves. The first step in that process is to read the variables x,y and z using the API. I have been able to create three particle variables and read them through the API. My problem is that they are all 0 no matter how I turn and twist the accelerometer.
I am completely new to this so any advice would be much appreciated!

Here is the code I am using:

// This #include statement was automatically added by the Particle IDE.
#include "ADXL345/ADXL345.h"

// Cabling for i2c using Sparkfun breakout with a Spar Core
// Spark Core <-> Breakout board
// Gnd         -  GND
// 3.3v        -  VCC
// 3.3v        -  CS
// Digital 0   -  SDA
// Digital 1   -  SCL

#define DEVICE (0x53) // Device address as specified in data sheet 

byte _buff[6];

char POWER_CTL = 0x2D;	//Power Control Register
char DATA_FORMAT = 0x31;
char DATAX0 = 0x32;	//X-Axis Data 0
char DATAX1 = 0x33;	//X-Axis Data 1
char DATAY0 = 0x34;	//Y-Axis Data 0
char DATAY1 = 0x35;	//Y-Axis Data 1
char DATAZ0 = 0x36;	//Z-Axis Data 0
char DATAZ1 = 0x37;	//Z-Axis Data 1

int x;
int y;
int z;
int xacc;
int yacc;
int zacc;

void setup()
{

Wire.begin();        // join i2c bus (address optional for master)
  Serial.begin(57000);  // start serial for output. Make sure you set your Serial Monitor to the same!
  Serial.print("init");

//Put the ADXL345 into +/- 4G range by writing the value 0x01 to the DATA_FORMAT register.
  writeTo(DATA_FORMAT, 0x01);
  //Put the ADXL345 into Measurement Mode by writing 0x08 to the POWER_CTL register.
  writeTo(POWER_CTL, 0x08);

Particle.variable("xacc", &x, INT);
    Particle.variable("yacc", &y, INT);
    Particle.variable("zacc", &z, INT);

}

void loop()
{
  readAccel();
  delay(500); // only read every 0,5 seconds
}

void readAccel() {