Adding counter total on a webpage

Hello everyone, I’ve been working on a Spark game but I can not figure out how to create an simple count where I can add a +1 to the total everytime a button is pressed.
With the arduino, I would have done it like this

int myCount = 0; 
digitalWrite(btn, HIGH)
{doSomeCoolStuff;
 myCount ++;
 }

I’m really new to the particle and I can not understand how to keep count then display it on a webpage,
(sorry if this has been discussed before)

I’d guess Spark.variable() will be the thing to look into for you.

Also have a read here
Tutorial: Spark Variable and Function on One Web Page
Reading Spark Variables with Your Own HTML File

Otherwise, your Arduino code would just work the same (but don’t put the blank between myCount and the post increment ++).

Does the count on the website have to be real-time, or would an interval poll work as well? If it has to be real-time, I’d look into SSEs. If it’s not that time-sensitive, Spark.variables() is a good option as @ScruffR pointed out.

1 Like

Thanks Scruffrfor your replys, I’ll look into the variable documentation, I’m still wondering how to display value on a page using the old arduino method. I will read all the examples and try to see which one fits best :smile:

@Moors7 - I would like them to be almost real time

thanks for the help

Could you elaborate a bit on what that might be? A 'regular' Arduino doesn't have internet, so you'd need some kind of shield/breakout to get that in the first place. Then you'd have to struggle with getting the information out.

With the Particle ecosystem, everything works over a REST api. You can use that to send or request data. Retrieving variables can be done using an HTTP GET request, whereas functions may be triggered using an HTML POST request.
SSE are a tad more complicated, but those too are HTML standards. Shouldn't be too hard. There's a JavaScript library available which you can use to handle these scenarios, check the docs.