Adafruit I2C FRAM Breakout Library (Ported?)

Dear Photon team,

Hope you are all well,

I am trying to connect and control an Adafruit I2C Non-Volatile FRAM Breakout (https://www.adafruit.com/product/1895) using a Particle Photon. I’m not aware of any libraries that have been ported, the original one from Adafruit is https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_FRAM_I2C.

I’m happy to learn how to do it myself, but I have never done it before,

If anyone has any experience or knows of a ported library I would appreciate your help,

Thank you,

Sam

@peekay123 Has done this already :smile: I’ll wait on him to tell you where the library is.

@Sammy_Herring, I ported the SPI version of the library but not the I2C version. It is super simple and I will let you know what needs to be done.

@Sammy_Herring, here we go:

In Adafruit_FRAM_I2C.h, replace this section of code:

#if ARDUINO >= 100
 #include <Arduino.h>
#else
 #include <WProgram.h>
#endif

#include <Wire.h>

with:

#include "Particle.h"

In Adafruit_FRAM_I2C.cpp, comment out this line of code:

#include <stdlib.h>

Finally, in the example .ino file, get rid of or comment out this line of code at the top:

#include <Wire.h>

I suggest you power the FRAM board using 3.3v via the Photon’s 3V3 pin. The board already includes I2C pull-up resistors. I also recommend compiling against the latest stable release (0.5.3) or the near-stable 0.6.0-rc.2. Let me know how it works!

2 Likes

@peekay123

Is that replacement code supposed to be blank?

1 Like

Only for .ino files.
In .h and .cpp files there should be a #include "Particle.h"

1 Like

@RWB, no it was not supposed to be blank. I had a missing carriage return on my line which caused the problem. All fixed :wink:

1 Like

Hey Guys,

Thank you for all of your replies,