Analog pin outputs 1.7v when set to input?

Hi there!

I’m a little new to hardware and electronics so please bear with me.

I’m trying to make a very simple circuit - reading from a TMP36 into the Spark Core; the TMP36 works perfectly well with an Arduino in an identical circuit.

I tried the same deal with a Spark Core but the readings were off and I set out to debug it. I stuck a multimeter in and the readings were OK again. This is what we call in the software industry a “Heisenbug”. I believe that you in the hardware world call it “voodoo”.

I removed the temperature sensor entirely from the circuit and just tested the analog pin I was reading to ground - it read 1.7v. Since it was A0 I feared interference from the antennae and moved it ( and the analogRead and pinmode) to another A1, same thing on A1 , only now A0 tests 0v like it should be.

It looks like pinmode(INPUT) is rising the voltage level on that pin to 1.7 and that interferes with my sensor; am I doing anything wrong?

Nir.

Addendum: it seems to happen after the first analogRead()

Hi @TheNirEast! Sorry your having trouble with the TMP36. Try reading through this thread and see if you can find some improvement in your situation:

I did read through it - but even with the TMP36 completely removed I’m still having a weird experience.

I have a completely empty circuit. The only thing I have attached is a voltmeter between A1 and GND.

Below is the code in its entirety - it is a simple registration of an analogRead to a web function.

Upon core reset - the voltmeter reads 0.04v - which is close enough to 0 for me.

After the FIRST time I read the voltage using analogRead - the voltmeter spikes to 1.66v and stays there.

Is that the expected behavior? Why is analogRead changing the output voltage on an analog pin?

Nir.

int testpin = A1;

int testPin(String args) {
  return analogRead(testpin);
}

void setup() {
  pinMode(testpin, INPUT);
  Spark.function("test",testPin);
}

void loop() {

}