Connecting Adafruit 2.8" TFT Touch Shield to a Photon

Hi,
I’m brand new to the Photon but have a little bit of experience with Arduino, and I was wondering if anyone could help me hook up the above shield to the Photon. I’m trying to use the ADAFRUIT_ILI9341 library, but it doesn’t work in the online IDE, I get a million errors about BRR not existing. I’ve seen that there are a few forks of this library and I think I’ve got everything compiling correctly in the offline IDE, but I’m still not sure of the wiring that I’ll need from the Photon to the shield. I’ve tried what is suggested in the comments but to no avail. Has anyone ever hooked up these things before? If so can you share some knowledge?
Thanks in advance
Ross

This lib was originally ported for the Spark Core and hasn’t been updated yet for the Photon.
But if you are prepared to tweak the library yourself it’s not too difficult and we can provide some pointers.

The main thing there is that you should replace any occurences of pinLO()/pinHI() with their hardware independent counterparts pinResetFast()/pinSetFast().

According wiring, when usint it via SPI look at this
https://docs.particle.io/reference/firmware/photon/#spi

And for CS & CD you might need to look into the code, since these pins can be assigned by you.

1 Like

Hey @ScruffR
Thanks for your reply, I’m attempting to use it as a SPI.
I’m more than happy to tweak the library, is there anything else that I should look out for?

You might also get some warnings/errors about pgm_... since these are not required on this platform.

This might also be helpful
Preprocessor #ifdef to Detect Platform Type (Core/Photon) at Compile Time

But there are lots of possible issues that might (or might not) come up, so it’ll be best to address them when you see them rather than getting worried about them before hand :wink:

Yeah so I’ve checked the SPI reference and using this as a reference I have connected what would be the pins on the Arduino as follows: