Troubleshooting Email from Core

Continuing the discussion from Email from the core:

Perhaps this will help...

"gmail requires an encrypted connection using TLS via the STARTTLS command. The Spark core cannot directly send email using gmail service since it cannot do TLS encryption right now. You must use
a service on the internet to act between the core and gmail. Pushingbox.com is one such service, but Spark will be introducing their own service that can do this in the future."

1 Like

Oh no, I just got the code and reach the same point with this error using gmail :frowning:
Any idea when Spark will support a method to send email ?

Thanks

ah ! …this may be exactly what i need - thanx @MisterNetwork :slight_smile:

BTW - I just started playing with Pushingbox as a solution to sending texts/emails, and it works great and integrates easily with the Spark.

@MisterNetwork - which code are you using? The Lib from github won’t compile… Am I missing something?

In file included from …/inc/spark_wiring.h:30:0,
from …/inc/application.h:29,
from pushingbox.cpp:2:
…/…/core-common-lib/SPARK_Firmware_Driver/inc/config.h:12:2: warning: #warning “Defaulting to Release Build” [-Wcpp]
#warning “Defaulting to Release Build”
^
pushingbox.cpp: In function ‘void setup()’:
pushingbox.cpp:36:37: warning: ‘char* NetworkClass::SSID()’ is deprecated (declared at …/inc/spark_wiring_network.h:39): Please use WiFi.SSID() instead [-Wdeprecated-declarations]
pinMode(LED, OUTPUT); // sets LED as output
^
pushingbox.cpp:38:40: warning: ‘IPAddress NetworkClass::localIP()’ is deprecated (declared at …/inc/spark_wiring_network.h:36): Please use WiFi.localIP() instead [-Wdeprecated-declarations]

^
pushingbox.cpp:40:42: warning: ‘IPAddress NetworkClass::gatewayIP()’ is deprecated (declared at …/inc/spark_wiring_network.h:38): Please use WiFi.gatewayIP() instead [-Wdeprecated-declarations]
if(DEBUG){
^