Hello all, I have a perception and it may be incorrect, that when I flash new firmware to the Photon that is does not completely wipe the existing program that was on the device. Almost every time now, if I remove a Particle.Publish event or change the name or data signature, and flash to the device, it still shows the old/previous publish events. As a workaround, I have at times had to flash a blank program onto the device and then flash my firmware again to get the publish events to update and reflect my code base(though this method is not even 100% successful).
This is frustrating for two reasons:
- I am using publish events temporarily for logging and troubleshooting so when my changes don’t get updated, it delays my testing and troubleshooting.
- Our free accounts have a 250k event limit. However, if I think I removed a publish event but it is still reporting, that is costing me events that it should not be sending.
Am I missing something? Is there some procedure to wipe the device before new firmware updates each time?