Triggering Spark.publish Only Once?

So I have a switch input triggering a spark.publish event, how would I write the program to only send out one spark.publish event until the switch is rest and the process would start over? I am fairly new to this style of programming so any advice would be great.

You can try something like this:

void loop() {
   bool pressed = digitalRead(D2);
   static bool publishedEvent = false;
   if (pressed) {
       if (!publishedEvent) {
            Spark.publish("myEvent", "myData");
            publishedEvent = true;
       }
   }
   else {
      publishedEvent = false;
   }
}

The weakness here is that buttons tend to bounce, so even though we are only publishing one event per button press, the button may “bounce” causing the appearance of many presses.

This can be avoided by recording the last time the event was sent using millis() and checking that the current time is at least (say) 100 ms later.

I figured out that if you use a delay() command after what the button input is triggering this will help with the bounce. I will have to give your suggestion a try, thanks.

Yes, a short delay() works well here too - good call!

another easy way would be a interrupt on a rising or falling edge, still have to watch for bounce though

volatile int state = false;
int buttonPin = D0;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);
  attachInterrupt(buttonPin, buttonPressed, FALLING);
}

void loop()
{
if(state){
    Spark.publish("myEvent", "myData");
    state = false;
}
}

void  buttonPressed()
{
state = true;
}

well let's debounce it then...

void  buttonPressed()
{
  static unsigned long lastPressedTime=0;
  if (millis() - lastPressedTime > 100UL);
  {
    lastPressedTime = millis();
    state = true;
  }
}

we hate using blocking code like delay( )

Thanks for all the helpful info, I will hopefully have a chance tonight to get to try some of these codes out and get them to work for me.