SerialCommand.js Error: Module version mismatch

Hi I'm new to using node/npm, and need to configure new Photons/Electron over USB.
When I follow the instruction with newly installed node.js/Win10 I get the following when I execute

particle setup.

SerialCommand.js Error: Module version mismatch. Expected 48, got 46.

node -v
v6.9.1
npm -v

I think its something to do with a mismatched versions, but I can't see how I rebuild.
Many thanks for any insight.

Have you used the Windows CLI Installer?
https://binaries.particle.io/cli/installer/windows/ParticleCLISetup.exe

Yes - tried it this morning. It doesn’t appear to be referenced anywhere in the documentation, but was listed in a Sept5 posting.

Just wondering if there are any other suggestions.
It seems like this is an internal consistency error with the downloaded environment. I have spent about 4hrs total trying to get this environment up, from researching, looking for more uptodate examples, and looking at other similar errors and trying out potential solutions.
many thanks

Does npm install -g serialport or npm update -g serialport change anything?

@ScruffR I just did a fresh install of Windows 10.

I installed Node 7.

I installed the Particle CLI via the Windows Installer and got a bunch of errors, one of those first errors was the Serial issue others were also having.

I just tried to run the npm update -g serialport in the Node Js Command window but it throws a bunch of errors also. Should I not be using Node 7.0?

Do the errors make any sense to you?

C:\Users\RWB>npm install -g serialport
C:\Users\RWB\AppData\Roaming\npm\serialport-list -> C:\Users\RWB\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\serialport\bin\serialport-list.js
C:\Users\RWB\AppData\Roaming\npm\serialport-term -> C:\Users\RWB\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\serialport\bin\serialport-terminal.js

> serialport@4.0.3 install C:\Users\RWB\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\serialport
> node-pre-gyp install --fallback-to-build