Mesh Network Concepts and Real Time Data

Hello im new to mesh network concepts. I have played with photons etc and borons and understand the publish / subscribe concepts. I’m getting ready to start a project which requires a xenon to display real time information from a sensor on a near by argon. It needs to be pretty real time. ie displaying the values of say a sensor. I need a point in the right direction on how to achieve that conceptually. Again the data needs to be pretty real time ie a meter showing real time data from a flow sensor. Or even lets just say for simplicity i need the xenon to access the “near” real time input from a potentiometer from a boron. Thanks for any tips. Again i understand the publish and subscribe concept but that doesnt seem to apply for fine real time communication. Thanks

2 Likes

Welcome to the community. Real time is a complex topic. You may need to define this more specifically I.e. response in less than n milliseconds etc.

This being said, setup a simple test with xenon starting a mesh subscribe and printing result and the argon doing mesh publish and test. You will need to serially connect them in this test so you can send a timing mark from one to the other such as a request to send from xenon and then check how long it takes to receive the message

Post some code for comments

2 Likes

Building on @shanevanj reply. It sounds like you are conceiving a potentially over complicated and “fragile” solution. I would consider using a Xenon where I needed a battery powered solution - but making a long lasting battery powered solution is a lot more complicated that a powered solution. If you can power something then maybe a wired rather than wireless solution would be quicker and cheaper to implement - would deliver on real-time and might be more robust in your environment?

1 Like

Thanks Shanevanj,