"memory" of credentials of iPhone 5 personal hotspot [SOLVED]

I am a newbie.
I was able to connect the Core to a iOS hotspot generated by the same iPhone 5 that controls the Core. It works great but I have a few questions, please!

1. How does the core know to connect to the same hotspot after I unplug it and move to a different computer for USB power?
  2. When I change locations for USB power (say, from one computer to another), why does it fail to re-connect to the hotspot?
  3. Do you know what type is the USB miniconnector that goes into the Core? I am interested to buy a cable such that I can power it from a standard AC outlet or other sources.

Thank you!

The Core has a place in memory for keeping up to 7 wifi networks with their credentials.

I don’t really know about this one, but I didn’t want to just ignore the question and make you think I forgot about it. I’m sure there are others in the forums who know much better than me about this.

It is a USB micro cable. You can grab a USB cell phone charger and plug the cable into that. If you want, there’s a good deal for a charger + micro USB cable on Amazon. I have a few of these for powering/charging all my zillions of USB devices (including Spark Cores!). It may not be powerful enough to drive lots of high loads (like big motors) or other power-hungry accessories, but it’s been plenty sufficient for all of my Spark projects.

When you move to the new location, are you also moving your phone? The range on a phone hotspot is not designed to be huge. Moving may put the core out of range for a successful connection.

Yes, I bring the phone along, of course! :wink:

Thank you for the other answers. So, there is a memory chip inside of some sort.

My problem is that most of the times the core does not connect to the hotspot once I power it up. (say, after I step away from the desk for a few minutes /and took the phone with me/)