IDE for Particle

Hello All ,
I am new to Particle family. Last week only I purchased the Boron LTE kit (Cellular+Mesh+Bluetooth).I followed the steps mentioned ion the manual for starting and programming after add devices in the mobile phone app its asking for credit card details.

1. Can I work with BORON board with out any credit card details ?
  2. why particle requires credit card details ?
  3. Is particle provides off line IDE to develop or write programs .

Nope, you can't since you may be using cellular data beyond the free allowance and for that Particle needs to have a way to secure their claims.

Yes, that's called Particle Workbench and is based on VS Code.

1 Like

Hi Thank you for your quick reply.

1. I am not using Particle cellular data I am using 3rd party cellular data ( Airtel-INdia network) in this situation why I have to provide the credit card details .

2. If I use a Workbench for my programming .
    a) Is there any hardware/software to do debugging .
    pls share the tutorial or any use full links .

This is what you say now, but at any instance you could change your mind and for that case the credit card details are an insurance for Particle.
It could also happen that you create a mesh network that enteres into one of the payed tiers even when your cellular date is going via a 3rd party service, the cloud and mesh features would need a way to get charged.
Even if you never even activate the SIM card the default setup flow does (currently) not cater for this case.

However, you can try manual onboarding by flashing the code shown here via USB and then manually claim the device via CLI or Web IDE.

That would be a question a simple search in the docs could have answered
https://docs.particle.io/datasheets/accessories/mesh-accessories/#debugger
https://docs.particle.io/tutorials/developer-tools/workbench/#debugging-3rd-generation-

Hi ,

1. Can I use a Bluetooth network to create a mesh topology with out going cloud?