I2C/LCD Hello World needed

Hi all. I’m starting my first real Spark project and would like to add an LCD for feedback. The LCD I’m using came with an Arduino kit I bought and the backpack is a Serial IIC I2C Adapter Serial Interface Board Module For Arduino, Model: GY-IIC-LCD.

I’ve read the existing I2C/LCD posts (very informative) and tried all the code. Some of it sorta worked, some not at all (no fault of the authors I’m sure). By sorta, I mean I can get the backlight to work but it doesn’t write anything to the screen.

Does anyone have a bare-bones “Hello World” sample code I can use as a starting point? I would like to start simple and build on whatever success I can achieve. BTW, I am a novice programmer so simpler is better. :smiley:
Thanks,
Bruster

@Bruster, you now have 3 topics regarding this display. Can I ask you to kindly keep it to one so we don’t have to repeat our answers :stuck_out_tongue:

I have the impression that something is not setup correctly with either the hardware or the code. On THIS topic, can you post the code your are attempting to use?

1 Like

Hi all,
I just got my new Spark and I’m trying to get it to work with my 1602 LCD with backpack. Unfortunately I can’t even get to 1st base (no backlight). The LCD came with the Arduino kit I bought and the backpack is a Serial IIC I2C Adapter Serial Interface Board Module For Arduino 1602 2004 LCD, Model: GY-IIC-LCD.

I know the LCD works as I tried it on an Arduino (twice) and have used it on other Arduino projects. I tried two different AC adapters as power sources as well as powering from USB. One of the power sources I used to test with the UNO. There is an LED on the backpack that lights up. I checked the voltage between VCC and GND and it’s 4.56v on the Spark and 4.78v on the Arduino.

Any thoughts or magic tricks to get the LCD to illuminate?
Bruster