How to control high power HOA switch with a relay shield?

Hello kind people of the Internet,
I’m attempting to figure out how perhaps to use a relay shield to control an HOA switch (Hand/Off/Auto switch). Full disclosure: I have zero experience with an HOA switch.

The HOA switch would be controlling the power to a 220V / 440V AC water pump which pulls significant amps and is several hundred horsepower.

An example HOA switch would be perhaps, a Square D Control switch:
[link to Square D switch][1]

I noticed the discussion of the Ada fruit 120v controller (power switch tail 2) [link to Adafruit power switch here][2] …but need to handle significantly more power than 120V.

Any help/advice would be mucho appreciated…

thanks in advance
[1]: http://www.grainger.com/product/SQUARE-D-Control-Station-2EK12?s_pp=false&picUrl=//static.grainger.com/rp/s/is/image/Grainger/2EK12_AS01?$smthumb$
[2]: http://www.adafruit.com/product/268

Hi @woody2shoes

Wow! That is a big switching problem, for sure. A pump motor that is rated 100HP at 440V would have a nameplate running amperage of around 135A and would require a very large relay or contactor to control it due to the locked rotor amperage, which should be 726A. This is not something that you should try to do unless you are very experienced! Very bad things happen very quickly when switching that much wattage. There are likely to be “lock out” requirements too to prevent accidental turn-on while someone is working on it.