How do I pass a string out of a function?

First of all a big thank you to @delianides, Adafruit and others for the great Neomatrix/pixel libraries. I was able to get a 8x32 matrix working based on the demos/examples.

Forgive me if this post is in the wrong section, I’m a newbie to the forum. I’ve searched and can’t find anyone else who seems to have had this issue, and some of the examples in the Arduino forum don’t seem to apply to the Particle.function.

Now I want to be able to write to a function and pass the text to display on the matrix. I’ve hacked some code so that if there are less than 6 characters, it doesn’t scroll, but if the number of characters is too large to fit on the screen then the text scrolls.

The problem I’m having is when I write to the API when there is text on the screen, it super imposes the text on top of what’s there. I’ve tried writing " " to the msgText variable to clear it first, but has no effect. What’s good way to blank/reset this variable before the new text is retrieved?

Second question is, what is the “best” way to pass the string back out of the Particle.function? Writing to the msgText variable seems to work, but not sure if this is good practice to do it this way or if there is a better way to handle it. I’m new to Particle/Arduino coding.

#include "Particle.h"
#include "neomatrix.h"

// IMPORTANT: Set pixel PIN and TYPE
#define PIXEL_PIN D6
#define PIXEL_TYPE WS2812B

Adafruit_NeoMatrix matrix = Adafruit_NeoMatrix(32, 8, PIXEL_PIN,
  NEO_MATRIX_BOTTOM    + NEO_MATRIX_RIGHT +
  NEO_MATRIX_COLUMNS + NEO_MATRIX_ZIGZAG,
  PIXEL_TYPE);

const uint16_t colors[] = {
  matrix.Color(255, 0, 0), matrix.Color(0, 255, 0), matrix.Color(255, 255, 0),matrix.Color(0, 0, 255), matrix.Color(255, 0, 255), matrix.Color(0, 255, 255), matrix.Color(255, 255, 255)};

void setup() {
  matrix.begin();
  matrix.setTextWrap(false);
  matrix.setBrightness(5);
  matrix.setTextColor(colors[0]);
  // create cloud function to pass text to display