General Help: Best Way to Flash an LED, Formatting LCD Output, Fixing Stack Overflow

Hi there!

Apologies for the lengthy post, but I didn’t want the system to think I was spamming based on the number of new posts.

Virtually a complete noob to Particle here, but I have had a Photon running and watching my freezer temperature off and on for a couple of years (and using IFTTT to log to a Google Sheet). Coming home after vacation to find a tripped breaker one time was enough!

I picked up a couple more Photons recently so I can work towards making some “Who is teaching and/or in a meeting?” status boxes for use around the house and at the front door. After large parts of several days searching for help and getting distracted by all of the cool projects people have created, I need some general help all the way around.

To work towards that, I’ve decided to add more features to the FreezerMonitor, one at a time, so I can learn more about everything along the way. I am very much “hunting and pecking” to try to assemble this. I know bits and pieces about various languages that I’ve used over the years, but am a mere beginner in them all.

The first step is upgrading the FreezerMonitor system by adding a second Photon to sit on my desk, flash its D7 in different patterns based on what’s happening in the garage, and display the temp on an LCD screen.

Flashing an LED
What’s the best way to flash an LED? Since I’m getting Stack Overflow resets, I don’t think my way is working very well. :laughing: Is there a way to loop without being in the main void loop?

Am I using the handlers incorrectly? Is it a better idea to have them set a global variable, then test that variable inside the void loop, alternating patterns based on that value?

I wanted to start simply and have the FreezerGood and FreezerBad events be the triggers it would use, but then realized that I could probably do it with testing the value of the temperature event. I haven’t had time to clean up the code.