BLE connect between 2 Photon 2 devices

Hello,

I have limited knowledge on this stuff but love to tinker and make things work. I have been making various projects with Particle devices since the original Spark Core in 2014! However, I think my latest project has me in over my head, but its a personal project that I was hoping to get done before Christmas eve.

Essentially, I am looking to use 2 Photon 2 devices to determine a rough distance measurement between the 2 devices. It doesnt need to be super accurate, just looking to calibrate it to determine when the 2 devices are "close (around 15 feet), closer (around 7.5 feet), and closest (anything less than a few feet)" from each other. When it determines these distances, I want to light up LEDs to signal what distance is being detected by the 2 devices. I was looking to pick up some ESP 32 UWB controllers but they will take too long to ship, so since I have 2 Photon 2 devices not in use, I thought maybe I can use the RSSI strength from the BLE to accomplish my goal.

I was able to get the first Photon 2 device to act as a beacon, which I believe is working because I can see the device when I scan for devices with my phone.

But I just cant figure out how to connect to the beacon with my second device. Do I have to scan for available bluetooth devices with the second device or is there a way to automatically connect it to the beacon device, and how can I read the RSSI strength?

Thank you in advance for any help you all can provide!

Have you looked at Device Nearby and RSSI meter?

1 Like

Thank you so much for directing me to those references, this is exactly what I was looking for!

I have 1 device acting as a beacon, and the other acting as a scanner. I was able to set up a adafruit neopixel jewel to the scanner and detect some distances. When the devices are 15 feet or more the leds light up red, when between 5 to 14 feet the leds turn yellow, when I when under 5 feet the leds turn green.