Arduino 3rd Party Libraries > Spark Libraries

Since I learned that I can’t just use (many? most?) existing 3rd party libraries from the Arduino IDE because of hardware differences (ARM <> Cortex), I thought it might be a good idea to create a thread where we can address this.

I saw some people are already working on some ports but this info is probably a bit scattered around the forum or we don’t even know about it. Maybe we can get of an exchange going here of which libraries are needed by people and who is possily developing them already or someone has tried a library and it’s working without a port? Unfortunately I can’t port anything but I can start by asking if any of the following libraries are already ported or work without a port…

Request:

1 Like

Perhaps the Spark team can create a forum category specifically for these ports? It would help keep things a little more organized.

I’m still trying to port a DHT11 library, but I’m still a bit of a noob at C. I can get my “port” to compile, but it doesn’t seem to work right in the real world. :-/

1 Like

I’d suggest (aka desperately needed :wink: ) RC-Switch

https://code.google.com/p/rc-switch/

Cheers,

Frido.

1 Like

Until the Spark team creates a workflow for this in the web IDE, here’s my recommendation. Use the forum—have one topic thread per library. Great idea @wgbartley—I just added a Libaries category. If there’s already a topic for the library you’re wondering about, keep posting there rather than creating a new topic. When you create a new topic, be sure the name of the library is in the topic title. As these topics grow, we can add a pinned topic that lists the libraries in progress and links to the topic for each.

@exposure I saw the system marked your message as spam—I’ve cleared that flag and bumped up your trust level.

Also @exposure, SPI is already built in, no #include necessary:
http://docs.spark.io/#/firmware/communication-spi