Photon SMD Antena, keepout zones, and ground loops

Hello folks,

I’m new to electronics in general and designing PCBs in particular. While building a PCB using the Photon SMD, I unintentionally created a ground loop around the “keep out zone”.

This was messing up the SoftAp setup process preventing my phone to connect to the Photon AP. My phone stay tuck in “Getting IP”. It seems that my phone couldn’t get an IP assigned by the Photon’s DHCP.

Once I created a dent in the upper part of the loop, the problem disappear and I was able to connect to the Photon AP and complete the SoftAP setup.

So it seems that there is more than just staying out from the “keep-out” zone.

I was wondering if some of the more experience PCB designers in the community could provide some guidance on how to prevent ground loops in a PCB?

Is it better to avoid having ground planes around the keep out zone in general?

Thanks!

@sazp96, I have a pre-claimed Photon running a board with a ground place around the keep-out. I’ll erase the creds on it and try setting up the wifi via the softap to see what happens. I’ll report tonight.

1 Like

Thanks @peekay123. You can find all the details of this issue here:

@peterqu found the ground loop in our design that fixed the issue for us.Thanks again Peter!

Now, I’m looking for best practices with regards to ground planes and keep out zones.

1 Like

This is my Rev1, no ground after the antenna, but traces in the non ground planed area (I misunderstood the keepout at the entire photon)

And this is my R2 with more beefy traces, but ground plane just above the antenna.

Niether of them works with the softAP setup.
So I am not convinced we have found the smoking gun yet, as yet more people are being halted by the issue.

In my 3rd rev I am planning on replacing the power circuit, but I have halted that for now since its throwing good money after bad.