Motorbike battery as a power source for particle electron

Hi,

I am completely new to electronics, I have a software background. I am planning to build a motorbike GPS tracker with Particle Electron and also a remote kill-switch. I would like to use motorbike’s battery to power the particle board when engine is running and charge its LiPo battery. When engine is not running particle will be powered by LiPo battery. Vehicle battery in this case would be 12V DC. Can I connect particle directly with the battery?

My second question is how can I put together a kill-switch wiring one of particle’s digital output pins to the ignition of the bike. What sort of circuit I will need?

I have been doing a lot of reading online about using relays to connect particle with motorbike’s electrical wiring etc. but I couldn’t find any concrete examples of my particular case. Can somebody suggest circuit diagrams or figures to illustrate how I can set this all up?

Thanks

The Electron has a max input voltage of 12v. So you are going to need to drop down the battery voltage to 12v or below to not go over 12v.

Something like this would work:

Here are some relay options to take a look at for the Kill Switch:

1 Like

Thanks @RWB for the information. The step down voltage regulator will really make life simpler otherwise I was looking at some really complicated circuit diagram examples that were really not making much sense to me. Having said that I am not really sure how to put it together with electron board. Can you help with a schematic/diagram? Sorry I forgot to mention i will be using asset tracker shield. Can I connect the regulator to screwed input terminal on the shield instead of electron?

For kill switch the relays at the link you shared, which one can I use, provided that I will be using the asset tracker shield and electron would be mounted on that shield.