Eclipse IDE on Windows

Hi, I’ve posted an article on my blog describing the procedure to have the Eclipse CPP environment set up on a Windows machine, but I’m stuck with some weird errors reported within Eclipse but not blocking the build process.

When I open the application.cpp file I see errors on pinMode, digitalRead, digitalWrite, analogRead and analogWrite functions: for them all the message is something like

Invalid arguments 'Candidates are: void pinMode(?, enum PinMode)'

If I open spark_wiring.h, as an example, I get errors on the basic types, like

Type 'int32_t' could not be resolved

I’m pretty sure I’m missing something very simple here, but I’m new at Eclipse CPP, your help is very welcome.

Hi @rlogiacco - I’m not particularly familiar with Eclipse so I don’t have great suggestions here, but it does seem like there’s some issue in pulling in dependencies. Are there settings for your project where you provide a list of files to be included? If so, perhaps that list is not currently including everything from all three firmware repositories?

The stdint.h types are defined in the GNU ARM toolchain. Are you using the toolchain from launchpad.net recommended in the core-firmware README?

I know @satishgn works in Eclipse on Windows at least some of the time. Can you give any guidance here Satish?

@rlogiacco, can you try this:

Select the “core-firmware” project in Project-Explorer then => “Window” => “Preferences” => “C/C++” => “Indexer” => Deselect and Select “Enable indexer” => “Apply”

@satishgn that re-index didn’t work: the indexer run for a little less than a minute but no joy. Is it possible I’ve to instruct somehow Eclipse to add some resources to the index?

Please find a screenshot of my core-firmware clone within Eclipse

rlogiacco posted a link in his blog for a better understanding for a windows setup. I have used the information for there and here to set up my environment. I also added the following lines to the makefile as per his blog.