Data logging memory collection and dumping to a PC?

Hi guys,

I’m very new to this AND I am old. :grin:
I was using an Arduino Mega but I see so many benefits with the Photons.
I have a Photon - I got it working through persistence to blink the LED. YES!

So in transistion to Photon I ask -

If I monitor an analog input how many reads can I save into an array before I hit some sort of limit?

And

I want to transfer the array to a PC. Do I just use Putty for that (Like I was doing with the Mega) or what options are there in this modern world I find myself in?

Regards Dave

I too am old - seems most of get that way originally…

Monitoring an analog - depends on how many/how often.

You can use main memory - if you only want say 32k
You could use some frams - can store lots quickly.

You could use a sd card - fairly quick and holds lots of data…

If you are capturing slow enough, make a couple of buffers in main memory - say 1k each.

Use the s/w timers to capture the data into a buffer and switch to another buffer when full - have loop send full buffer via TCP/Ip to somewhere else.

So - whilst your questions appear on the surface to be simple (and good questions BTW), there are multiple ways of achieving your aims.

FWIW - here is how I would go.

Start by implimenting the timers (look for timer library). and capture into one of two buffers.
Have a simple print “Buffer X Full” when ever buffer gets full and switch to secondary buffer.

Once this is all working, try to write some dummy code that uses TCP/IP to send some data to another TCP/IP listener.

Once you have this working, merge the two programs together.

I may have some sample code that impliments double buffering (I think it stores to a SD card).

Stan

1 Like

Thanks Stan,

The data -

Simply I need to collect 2 analog signals every 0.001 seconds for about 10 seconds, so about 20,000 analog sample points. Easy enough I hope. Can the Photon store that?