Custom PCBs...how to start

I’ve used protoboard to make a few prototypes, and now I’d like to mass produce (ie. make 5-10) boards. I have zero experience with any CAD or circuit design. I’m looking for suggestions on how to get started.

Main points:

• Looking to get a few small’ish PCBs made.
  • At a minimum, I need connected traces and holes for mounting (through hole?) a few components
  • A bonus would be the ability to have the boards arrive with some components already soldered in (a cap and a resistor, some female headers, all the way up to a barrel jack for power)

If anyone has some recommendations on where to get started (books, blog tutorial, etc.), I’d really appreciate it

Update: Having now just sent off my first design to get printed, I can recommend KiCad and this series of KiCad video tutorials. I came into the process knowing absolute zero about CAD, and I was able to put together my circuit and generate all the files needed by Seeed Studio in about 2 hours. I’m sure there’s way more I should learn, but in terms of dipping your toes in the water and designing my first board, I was very pleased.

Update 2: It took about a month for the boards to arrive from Seeed Studio, but they were great when I got them! Everything fit perfectly, and once I soldered all the components, everything worked as expected. Look below to see some pics.

I have no personal experience yet (never moved out of protoboard phase yet), but from my research, Seeed studio have pretty decent prices. I think they offer also PCB assembly, but I did not research that.

https://www.seeedstudio.com/fusion_pcb.html?cPath=185

Hi @micahwedemeyer

Great to hear you’re keen to make your own boards!
In terms of software, at a beginner level I would recommend Eagle or Circuit Maker.
Particle (and much of the open source) world use Eagle. I’ve always preferred Altium who make Altium Designer (~$8000), Circuit Studio (~$1000) and Circuit Maker (free). But try them out and see how you go!